Tofu Scramble

Breakfast was never my favorite meal. As a non-egg eating vegetarian the options always seemed heavy on carbs and starch – pancakes, waffles, potatoes, breads… It never made me feel great and I now know it’s really not how you should start your day. Protein is essential to a healthy vegetarian diet, especially in the morning.

Then I discovered tofu scramble. Dare I say, it’s kindof changed my life. It fills me up and gives me energy. AND it’s so delicious that my carnivorous family and friends now make it a frequent addition to their breakfast routine.

The recipe below is my old standby, but I believe that cooking should be flexible so use whatever ingredients you have available. I’ve used spinach, chick peas, capers, broccoli… The turmeric gives the tofu a beautiful yellow hue and earthy flavor, but any spice or herb will do. Be inventive and use local ingredients whenever possible.

INGREDIENTS (serves 1-2)

1 T extra virgin olive oil

1/2 block tofu (firm, packed in water; I like Nasoya and Whole Foods 365)

1/4 onion, finely sliced

1/4 green pepper, cubed

dash salt and pepper, to taste

1 t turmeric

PREPARATION

Wrap the tofu in a paper towel to remove excess water. Squeeze a little and set aside until the paper towel is damp and has absorbed most of the water.

Heat oil in a nonstick pan.

Using your fingers, roughly mash the tofu and drop into the pan.

Let the tofu sauté for a few minutes while you chop the veggies. I like the onion finely sliced and the green pepper diced, but do what you prefer.

Toss/stir the tofu and then add the onions, salt and pepper.

Toss/stir every few minutes. Once the tofu is browned, add the green pepper. I save this for the end because I like the green pepper a bit crunchy.

Toss/stir for a minute or two more and then sprinkle 1 t turmeric (or more to taste). Stir until turmeric is evenly mixed. Remove from heat and let sit a few minutes for the flavors to absorb.

Serve and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Delicious Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

