Tofu Sour Cream

As much as I enjoy Tofutti’s Better Than Sour Cream, I must admit that I feel a little guilty about using (and recommending) it. At the end of the day, it’s still a processed food with some decidedly unrecognizable ingredients. When using soy products, your best bet is to stick with the whole food variety (edamame, soy nuts, tofu). In fact, the topic of soy has become so contentious that one could do multiple research projects on the subject (and probably still be a bit confused). We eat processed foods for a variety of reasons, mostly because it’s easy and we’re all too stressed out as it is. *sigh*

My key to sanity and balance is the old mantra “everything in moderation.” And when all else fails, I’m comforted by my family’s impeccable health history. Frankly, if I was predisposed to cancer I might reconsider. That said, I’ve found myself using certain processed soy products often enough that I felt it was time to explore more natural options.

I use the boxed variety of tofu for this recipe which I realize is less than ideal because it includes isolated soy protein, but I like the texture better in this case (I usually loathe the boxed tofu and use the in-water variety 99% of the time). The beauty is that once you have the basics down, there are limitless possibilities for dressings, dips, and sauces. And while it might not be perfect, it beats the alternative.

INGREDIENTS (makes about 1 c)

1 box firm silken tofu (usually in the Asian section of the grocery store)

1 T extra virgin olive oil

4 t lemon juice

2 t apple cider vinegar

1 t brown sugar, packed

1 t salt

PREPARATION

Cut the tofu into cubes and add to a food processor along with olive oil, lemon juice, vinegar, sugar, and salt.

Gently pulse the food processor to begin to blend the ingredients. Once the tofu cubes have blended, continuously blend for several minutes until the mixture is creamy and well integrated.

Consider adding roasted garlic, basil, Tabasco sauce, wasabi, etc for an extra punch of flavor. Stores for about a week in the refrigerator.

This entry was posted in Awareness, Delicious Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tofu Sour Cream

  1. Pingback: Taco Salad | Vegetarian Chic

  2. Pingback: Roasted Vegetable Napoleon | Vegetarian Chic

  3. Pingback: Patacones | Vegetarian Chic

  4. Pingback: Edamame Ravioli | Vegetarian Chic

Leave a Reply

