Quinoa Salad

I never know what to bring to potlucks. It has to be easy, preferably healthy, but also tasty so that the non-vegetarians in the room don’t balk. I figured quinoa would be a little out of the ordinary, but my usual broccoli quinoa routine wasn’t going to cut it. After deciding on a quinoa salad, I collected a variety of multi-colored veggies and hoped for the best. Of course after I got home, I realized I didn’t have a dressing so in a pinch I mixed up some lime juice and olive oil. And I have to say I was quite pleased with the results so thought I’d share. It will last for a good week, travels well, and is a great opportunity to introduce friends to the wonders of quinoa!

INGREDIENTS (everything is approximate, I just wing it)

Salad:

2 c cooked quinoa

1 c cubed sweet potato

1 c grape tomatoes, sliced in half

1/2 c green peppers, diced

1/2 c cooked black beans

1/2 c corn

Dressing:

1/4 c lime juice (I’m a big fan of Santa Cruz Organic Lime Juice)

1/8 c extra virgin olive oil

pinch sea salt

PREPARATION

Boil diced sweet potato for approximately 3 minutes and slice/ dice/ prepare all other vegetables. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk lime juice, olive oil, and salt until well blended and frothy.

Then add the veggies. Toss well and let sit to absorb the flavors of the dressing. What is it about lime juice that makes everything taste fresh and clean?

In a larger bowl, mix the quinoa and dressed vegetables. Tastes as good as it looks!

This entry was posted in Delicious Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quinoa Salad

  1. Well, I´m not a veggie and I´d be thrilled if someone turned up at my house with this!

Leave a Reply

